Pre-Publication Chores

Lucifer’s Promise will be published sometime next February.  In the meantime, other things must be done.  After much back and forth, we’ve finally decided on a cover.   It depicts a building central to the novel at a critical time in the story.  I’m still working on the back cover copy.front

We’ve also sent the current manuscript to authors and critics for comment.  Some of the responses will (hopefully) be included on the back cover and first few inside pages.  We’ve already heard from Diane Donovan who reviews ebooks for Midwest Book Review.  I’ll share her last few lines because they validate what I preach so frequently on this page.

Lucifer’s Promise isn’t a mystery or detective story per se, though plenty of elements of the thriller genre are embedded in the plot and fans of genetic or medical mystery reads, in particular, will be delighted with the way this investigation goes . . . Fans of Robin Cook, Michael Crichton, and the like will thus find plenty to admire in Lucifer’s Promise, which successfully crosses genres. Adventure, mystery, and higher-level thinking: it doesn’t get better than this, for a reader who looks for more than mere entertainment.”

Those of you who follow this blog regularly will understand that the effect described by Ms. Donovan is what I aim for each time I sit down in front of my computer.  It’s a good day in the writing biz when it’s recognized.

 

What Do You Think?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>